FD2: There are plenty of fish in the sea :)

menmybaby@disneyland

Ohana Vaefaga

Eng273N

3/4/13

1,034 words

FD2

There are plenty of fish in the Sea

            For everyone in the world, I believe there is someone out there for them. Being one who loves to fish I could tell you that there are plenty of fish in the sea. [Thesis] You never know when your bait on the line might get a tug from the great big blue.[Thesis] When the time comes for you to take hold of your pole and reel in what the world has blessed you with, it is a test. This test is of your heart, spirit and faith. Is your heart ready to behold what life has given you? Will your spirit be strong? Can you keep faith in yourself to survive this experience?

            My time to grab hold of my pole and reel came in the spring of 2011. I close my eyes and it feels as if it was just yesterday. The flowers in bloom with clear blue skies and sunshine that seemed to last forever. A time in my life that brought new beginnings, new friends and new love. It was at this time in my life that I met the love of my life, Melody.

We were in Musical Theatre together. I can remember our first day in class. We had auditions for the spring musical “The Scarlet Pimpernel”. Sweat dripped down my forehead as I scrambled through my backpack in search of a piece of music to perform. All I found was a Christmas song called “I Saw Three Ships”. It was January. Christmas had passed. I was doomed. Out of nowhere Melody approached me and immediately my fears of singing a Christmas song after Christmas disappeared. My mind went blank.

Meeting her for the first time, it felt like a tug on my line from the big blue. She stood 5’ 5’’ with brown eyes. She had a bright smile like a morning sunrise with beauty that could take your breath away and a laugh that lifted your spirit. No matter what time of day she had a smile on her face. I loved that about her. A positive light so radiant and bright you couldn’t help but feel it.

Just sharing a few words with her I could feel her good vibes. She had a very chill atmosphere about her. You feel that you could talk to her about anything and everything. Someone who from the first moment you meet, you feel as if you’ve known forever. I started to reel in my line.

On the night of our last performance, we had gone to a cast party together. We played games, ate and laughed the night away. I remembered after a while that everyone had gone outside to check out the pool. But I hadn’t seen it yet. Out of curiosity I slipped out of the house and took a stroll by the pool while everyone else had a big pillow fight. It was a beautiful pool indeed. It had a waterfall and a little walk way that reached the top overlooking the entire property. I walked up to the top of the waterfall when all of a sudden Melody walked outside by the pool.

“What are you doing?” she asked.   

“I’m looking up at the stars. It’s beautiful up here. Come check it out.” I said.

“Okay!” she replied.

She walked up the walkway to where I was sitting and there she was by my side looking up at the stars.

She then asked me “What are your plans in life?”

In my mind I began to reel in my fishing line harder.

I looked into her eyes as she asked me that question and I could see the stars shinning so bright in them. As if the window to her soul had opened. I knew that very moment in my heart she was the fish in the sea that I wanted to catch. She was what life had given to me. I couldn’t put words to how I felt about her. I simply leaned into her and we shared a kiss. We held each other underneath the stars that summer night. In all of my life I’ve never seen the stars shine so brightly in the sky.

We have been together ever since that night beneath the stars. I’ll always remember our moment in time where the stars shined so bright and the fire within our hearts was lit.  It was the day that I finally reeled in my line and caught my beautiful fish from the big blue.

I found my “someone” out there in the world for me. Ever since our paths have met there has been nothing but blessings in my life. When the time came for me to take hold of my pole and reel in what the world had blessed me with, I took the test. My heart was ready to behold what life had given me. My soul became stronger by bringing her into my life. My faith had become my foundation.

In this life, there are plenty of fish in the sea. For everyone in the world, I believe there is someone out there for them. When the time comes for you to take hold of your pole and reel in what the world has blessed you with, will you be ready? Is your heart ready to behold what life has given you? Will your spirit be strong? Can you keep faith in yourself to survive this experience?

It is our choices we make in life that define who we are. If we choose to not respond to the tugs on our line from the big blue then we will never know if the fish waiting for us on the other end was what we’ve been waiting our entire lives for. It is your choice to grab hold and reel in your fish. Take the test that life throws at you and see if it is in fact your time to catch your fish.

But from one fisherman to another a little advice…[Thesis] You never know when your bait on the line might get a tug from the great big blue.[Thesis] Happy Fishing!

 

 

Log of Completed Activities
_X__ Feb. 4- Guidelines for Paper #2: Portraits
_L__ Feb. 8- Laulima Discussion: Portraits by Lee and Simic.
_X__ Feb. 11- Complete readings – all of chap. 13. Optional: Madeline Sonik, “Cucarachas” (Bellingham Review, 2009); Richard Ben Cramer, “What Do You Think of Ted Williams Now?” (Esquire, June 1986). Warning: some strong language in both and bits of sexist language in Cramer’s.
_L__ Feb. 14- Laulima Discussion: Portraits by Steinbach and Toth.
_X__ Feb. 19- Laulima Posting: Sample from Your Portrait.
_L__ Feb. 22- Submit RD2. Review the guidelines. [50 pts]
_X__ Feb. 25- Submit three RD2 evaluations. Review the guidelines. [50 pts]
_X__ Feb. 28-Mar. 4 – Submit FD2. Guidelines for Submitting FD2. [125 pts]

Leave a Reply

